Bontrager 24hrs Solo 2015

It began about 2 weeks after last years event, I noticed a distinct low period in the week following, I had nothing left to aim for. I’d done well I had finished 6th in cat and 7th over all in my first ever ultra endurance event. I knew I could do better though I had been mixing it up with the leaders for the first 8 hours but my inexperience finally told at about midnight and I climbed off the bike for a 90 minute break which would see me drop from 2nd to 8th.  I managed to get back up to 7th (6th senior) by the end of the race. I knew I could do better.

Early Bird entries for 2015 got sent out to 2014 riders and I immediately signed on again and in early January 2015 I began my wind up to training to race again. I knew what I was going to do different this year, spend more time on the MTB and less on the road bike and practice fuelling with the right foods.

Work and Racing XCO distance as usual got in the way a little and my final 9hrs session was probably a week too late being about 9 days before the event but it felt easy and I knew I was on course for being fresh at the start line.

.Bonty2412 2015 start

The next few days whizzed by and before I knew it I was on the grid parked up next to Ger Jackson (Giant Dublin) Ger had finished 3rd the previous year so I knew I was in the right area. Start line banta began with the guys around, what you riding 12 or 24 team or solo, wow you really like blue don’t you etc etc.

Countdown starts nerves kick, were off.

Chanting take it slow take it slow in my head as its very easy to chase down riders who are in team events and are running to do a flat out lap before handing over to a buddy. Its hard seeing someone in baggies and flats ride away from you but you have to remember you have finite resources and heading towards threshold is not where you want to be. Harder said than done. This year as the course had an added loop at the start to thin people before a new compacted double track rock climb followed by a boarded bog and an off camber single track descent then up the famous Cliff Climb a very sharp tarmac section follow by a steep double track drag into the rooty madness of bluebell woods at the very top of the hill. Lollies on offer again this year on this section not for me thanks.

The course was wet from the previous days continuous rain but the sun was out so it was running no where near as fast as 2014 but it wasn’t slow either in my head I thought I can go for 200+ miles here.

Early pace saw me running 55 min laps including an early puncture to my rear tyre. I had decided to run a Maxis Beaver Mud tyre up front with a Conti Race king (race sport) on the rear. Despite a puncture on my warm up lap with the race king I had up front. I should have read the warning signs that the tyre was not up to the course and coming into the back end of a lap the sidewalls started folding in the bends. I stopped in the last section of the course on a piece in the camping area and jumped off and went for a gas bomb but before I even pulled it out a guy from the XC racer tent had a track pump on and was pumping away, frikking brilliant mental note to go thank them after the race. The tyre stayed up just long enough to ride the last section through the woods and through the solo area to many and Ohh and ahh from the side wall protestations. I love the slalom bit through the solo pit people banging frying pans, blowing whistles, shouting encouragement and generally having fun.

11709846_10207482971020874_6935440182264557381_o

I knew the forecast was for rain in the night and the course was muddy in places so I opted to put another Maxxis Beaver on the back to save a further tyre change later in the race. Only problem was that it was on my spare front wheel in the rear of Mike Travers ‘s van which was locked.. Doh, keys located help from the pit tyre change done and back on the track with new bottle and gel in under 2.5 mins not too shabby.

Next few laps I settled in with a steady pace and a smile on my face but I still didn’t know where I was.

Next Pit, Dad let me know I was 8th in category not want I wanted to hear I blocked it out and put my head down but next time round 7th overall thats better, although they could not tell me how many veterans were in front I was in the same spot I finished in 2014 and much happier.

61071115-DHP_3982

Lights had to be on at 1930hrs and I came through at about 1900 on one lap and just snapped on the  6 pack that I had on loan from Exposure lights. I had when booking the lights expected them to be this years models with their adaptive brightness and huge outputs, what I had been handed was several years out of date and with a simple three power setting 3 10 and 24hrs for the 6 pack and 1 3 and 10 for the diablo I had for my lid. This saw a med setting for the six pack and a low for the diablo, better than the cheap Chinese lights I had run the previous year but a shade less than expected infact the diablo was lost with the six pack on med. I had also chosen them as I thought I would be able to charge my Garmin from the smart port using a lead supplied and while in the main this did work, the current from the lamp clearly fooled the Garmin into thinking that it wasn’t charging and lead to the Garmin going into auto shutdown promoting me to cancel it. This occured every 5-20 mins throughout the night and taking the hands from the bars to cancel it on cottage return was no fun. However I did do a few runs down cottage with the 6 pack on full beam and it was awesome. This years kit being run by some of the teams though was something else one guy coming past me on Clif climb lead me to believe that the sun was rising behind, even 20 meters further back his 2015 6 pack on full blazed over the top of my combined lights.  lesson learned I’ll probably not bother with a lid light next time but hire two 6 packs that I can swap out and chuck a 20 quid Chinese lamp on full beam on my head.

Midnight and the fireworks went off the 12 hr guys were done and the Torch Bearer event began, Rob Williamson Riding a Travers Fat Race Fat Bike with its awesome 100mm Carbon rims barred past me on a descent making a really cool noise with it. That looks like fun is what I thought.

About 3am it started spitting rain then it stopped, at some point I had put on a thermal long sleeve Travers top, the course was noticeable more slippy. Then at 0330 the rain began in ernest and continued for what would be the rest of the race. I added a pertext shell + some longs to the long sleeve but the height of the course saw me very cold so later  I ditched my top half, put a thermal long sleeve on and added a fully water proof jacket.

The conditions were awful large areas of standing water and slop everywhere, I lowered tyre pressures this improved grip and comfort.

During the race I had passed fellow Travers Rider Jo Hitchen several times we were like kindred spirits, few words were said during these moments other than ‘Hi Jo’ and ‘Hi’ back ‘How you doing?’ ‘Ok’ we both knew what the other was going through not much else needed to be said we were both just focused on the next 20 meters or so. Weird but amazing.

The dawn seemed to stay away for an age but when it started it was like a switch. I left the 6 pack on for a fair few laps as in the trees with the bad weather it was of some help. I unplugged the Garmin though, I had had enough of its distracting auto shut down(I had even tried to switch off the auto shutdown feature whilst on a fire road section but despite showing off on the screen it was still doing it.)

The race was horrid at this point water bottle lids had to be swilled of mud in mouth before taking gulps, but at least I was semi comfortable in my breathable water proof, thermal gloves and longs.

I knew that this was going to break people and Id been in worse shape on a training ride last year so I dug in. The course was noticeable empty, as was track side people opting to stay tucked up and off the bikes.

11059419_10153491745122173_7005422537665419432_n

3hrs to go I began to look at what coming through the finish would look like needing to plan to try and get that extra lap in before the clock was up. I was crossing the line on the hour and taking about an hour a lap so I just needed to pull my finger out to duck under midday and get one extra in, however my last 2 laps were a couple of minutes over  so I crossed the line only a few minutes after 1200. First shaking Matt from the Pivot Boompods teams hand and then Mr Bontrager himself. He makes the effort to fly over from the states most years and it is an honour to shake his hand.

Bontrager 2412 2015 final lap

Then bike held aloft with all my remaining energy and a massive cheer from friends and family at the finish line. I was spent literally, leaning on the barriers for support legs just about holding me there. Beer handed to me with thanks from the Dartmoor Brewing Co, went down a treat. Kiss from the wife (kids not interested I did look like a swamp thing.)

That was it. Id finished 5th overall and was hopeful of a podium for vets but alas 3 of the 4 in front were also in this category so I was 4th, missing the podium but a massive improvement over last year. Chris Noble last years winner sent me some kind messages from home (recovering from a nasty crash.) congratulating me on a strong ride. Speedy recovery buddy.

My benchmark Ger Jackson had come in in 6th (picking up 2nd senior.) Id passed him during the morning and assumed I was just taking a lap back  but it would appear that we had been close all race and  I was actually moving past him.

Jo Hitchen had an epic epic ride. finishing 2nd overall and 1st lady Vet. amazing.

Other results for the team were 21st place for Michael B and Iain in the 12hr male pairs, 30th for Mike T himself in the solo 12hr and 20th for Rob in the Torchbearer 12hr(midnight to midday) solo

Now the thanks,

Mike Travers for continuing to support me and allowing me to be a brand ambassador for his growing company, but also providing tech support during the race and carting my massive amount of kit to and from the venue.

My Travers Rudy 29, Nextie carbon rims and Hope/praxis products performed perfectly throughout the race and is now hanging on the garage wall all clean and ready to go on its next adventure.  I had dropped a ring size from 32 to 30 for the race and an excellent praxis 11-40 cassette was slotted on to give near sram range. The 30-40 low gear still wasn’t low enough for cliff climb in the latter part of the race and saw me having to stand and bob rather than the planned twiddle but the ratios aside the cassette performed flawlessly and will significantly delay my move to 11 speed XT.

The Rudy is just awesome, quick wash down after all that and it looks box fresh again. Perfect endurance partner.

The rest of Team Travers for the help and support

To Lauf Forks for understanding why I chose not to use their forks in this event and offering to continue to support me in 2016.

To XC-Racer man for the quick track pump (sadly they left on the Sunday morning so were not there to be thanked personally.)

Quick mention to Flitch Bikes for the use of their workshop during the year, support and odd coffee! Thank Stu and team.

Finally To the Welch family, my kids, my Mum and Dad but specifically my Wife for not only supporting me during the race and staying up all night to do so, but for putting up with my constant cycling and cycling talk.

Its not her thing but she knows it’s mine and supports me anyway and for that I love her all the more.

No you’re awesome.

Russ.

http://www.traversbikes.com

One thought on “Bontrager 24hrs Solo 2015

Leave a comment